Statement from RVC CEO

Povalko

Dear colleagues and friends!

The world is changing faster and faster every year. Whereas, not so long ago, we used the expression “in our century of new technologies,” the pace of innovation is no longer being measured in decades and sometimes not even in terms of  years. New products and new markets are emerging right before our eyes, and we have an opportunity to occupy a respectable position in these markets by investing ahead of time in  people, technology and infrastructure.

In 2014, when the words “National Technological Initiative” were first mentioned, only a small group of enthusiasts believed in the success of this undertaking. Today, the concept of a technological breakthrough that is bringing the future ever closer is a clear and universally accepted truth. Thousands of  people are now engaged in this work, and RVC, as the NTI Project Office, is called on to provide the organizational, financial and analytical basis for the initiative.

2018 marked an important frontier for the NTI: we completed the establishment of the basic infrastructure that was laid down in the concept for the initiative. Thanks to the RVC team’s collaboration with our partners, the NTI’s anchor projects – Centers of excellence, Up Great technology contests, infrastructure centers – got under way. The Government of the Russian Federation has approved a set of regulatory road maps for the NTI that provide for the gradual elimination of administrative barriers to the launch of breakthrough products on the market. The objective of the next stage of the NTI’s development is ensure that the infrastructure is functioning properly and to create a convenient and understandable interface for attracting new participants to the NTI: entrepreneurs, universities, corporations and scientific and research organizations.

The NTI is a programme about knowledge, talent and energy, which are transformed into technologies and then into competitive products. Therefore, an important development in 2018 was the implementation of educational projects for a wide audience of individuals who are passionate about the technology agenda. This refers to the NTI Contest, which brought together about 40 thousand children all across the country, and the NTI lessons, which are carried out in some two thousand Russian schools. We also expanded considerably the range of projects in the NTI Club Movement last year, which should create a full-fledged social platform for technological growth within the initiative.

The financial basis for the implementation of the NTI and the creation and commercialization of new products is Russia’s venture capital market, which provides the most important source of funding, as an alternative to government-backed grants and subsidies. RVC’s objective is to improve the institutional environment and expand the community of professional players in the venture capital market industry. In 2018, RVC updated its investment strategy: we expanded our line of investment products, optimized the rules for working with management companies and introduced standards for making investment decisions in line with international practice. As of the end of the year, the total of RVC-backed funds had grown by  RUB 13.7 billion to RUB 48.6 billion, more than half of which are funds invested by our partners: private investors, corporations and development institutions. Also in 2018, RVC, together with Russia’s Ministry of Economic Development, developed a draft Venture Capital Market Development Strategy until 2030. The document contains more than 40 initiatives aimed at creating a mature venture capital industry in Russia, which implies a thirtyfold increase in the annual volume of transactions to RUB 410 billion.

All projects initiated and implemented by RVC last year contributed to the achievement of our long-term goal: the creation of leading Russian companies, the accelerated introduction of technology into the economy and the social sphere and, as a result, the improvement of the quality of life and well-being of the population. This is what we see as the result of our work. To learn more about the steps we took on this considerable journey in 2018, please read our annual report.

Respectfully,

Alexander Povalko

Обращение Генерального директора РВК

Povalko

Уважаемые коллеги, дорогие друзья!

С каждым годом мир меняется все стремительнее. Если совсем недавно мы использовали выражение «в наш век новых технологий», то теперь срок развития инноваций измеряется даже не десятилетиями, а иногда и не годами. На наших глазах возникают новые продукты и новые рынки. И у нас есть возможность занять достойные позиции на этих рынках, опережающим образом вкладывая ресурсы в людей, технологии, инфраструктуру.

В 2014 году, когда впервые прозвучали слова «Национальная технологическая инициатива», в успех этого начинания верила небольшая группа энтузиастов. Сегодня концепция технологического прорыва, который приближает будущее, – очевидная и всеми признанная истина. В эту работу сейчас вовлечены тысячи человек, а РВК, как проектный офис НТИ, призвана обеспечить для нее организационную, финансовую и аналитическую основу.

2018 год стал для НТИ важным рубежом – мы завершили создание базовой инфраструктуры, которая была заложена в концепцию инициативы. Благодаря взаимодействию команды РВК и наших партнеров стартовали якорные проекты НТИ – Центры компетенций, технологические конкурсы Up Great, инфраструктурные центры. Правительство Российской Федерации утвердило набор нормативных дорожных карт НТИ, предусматривающих поэтапное устранение административных барьеров для вывода на рынок прорывных продуктов. Задача следующего этапа развития НТИ – наладить эффективную работу этой инфраструктуры, создать удобный и понятный интерфейс по привлечению в НТИ новых участников: предпринимателей, университетов, корпораций, научных и исследовательских организаций.

НТИ – это программа про знание, талант и энергию, которые трансформируются в технологии, а затем в конкурентоспособные продукты. Поэтому важным направлением в 2018 году стала реализация образовательных проектов для широкой аудитории, увлеченной технологической повесткой. Это Олимпиада НТИ, объединившая около 40 тыс. ребят по всей стране, и Урок НТИ, который проводят в 2 тыс. российских школ. В прошлом году мы существенно расширили спектр проектов Кружкового движения НТИ, которые должны создать в контуре инициативы полноценную социальную платформу для технологического роста.

Финансовой основой реализации НТИ, создания и коммерциализации новых продуктов является национальный венчурный рынок. Он предоставляет важнейший источник финансирования, альтернативный государственным грантам и субсидиям. Задача РВК – совершенствовать институциональную среду и расширять сообщество профессиональных игроков венчурной индустрии. В 2018 году РВК обновила инвестиционную стратегию: мы расширили линейку инвестиционных продуктов, оптимизировали правила работы с управляющими компаниями, привели стандарты принятия инвестиционных решений в соответствие с международной практикой. По итогам года суммарный размер фондов с участием капитала РВК вырос на 13,7 млрд руб. и достиг 48,6 млрд руб., из которых более половины – это деньги, вложенные нашими партнерами: частными инвесторами, корпорациями, институтами развития. Кроме того, в 2018 году совместно с Министерством экономического развития Российской Федерации РВК разработала проект Стратегии развития венчурного рынка до 2030 года. Документ содержит более 40 инициатив, направленных на создание в России зрелой индустрии венчурного инвестирования, что предполагает увеличение годового объема сделок в 30 раз – до 410 млрд руб.

Все проекты, инициированные и реализованные РВК в прошлом году, способствовали достижению нашей долгосрочной цели: созданию отечественных компаний – лидеров, ускоренному внедрению технологий в экономику и социальную сферу и, как следствие, повышению качества жизни и благосостояния людей. Это то, что мы видим результатом нашей работы. О шагах, которые мы сделали на этом большом пути в 2018 году, читайте в Годовом отчете РВК.

С уважением,

Александр Повалко