Strategy for the Development of the Direct and Venture Capital Market to 2030

In December 2018, RVC, together with Russia’s Ministry of Economic Development, presented a draft Strategy for the Development of the Venture and Direct Capital Market to 2030.

The development of the strategy was envisaged by the action plan to stimulate Russia’s innovative development approved by an order of the Government of the Russian Federation in June 2017. At the request of Russia’s Ministry of Economic Development, the draft Venture Capital Market Development Strategy was produced by RVC in collaboration with PWC.

The goal of the Strategy is to realize Russia’s potential for innovation by developing a competitive venture market and creating a mature venture industry.

By 2030, the Venture Сapital Market Development Strategy anticipates:

Target quantitative indicators:

  • A thirtyfold increase in the annual volume of transactions in the Russian Venture Capital Market to  RUB 410 billion a year
  • A tenfold increase in the total supply of capital in the Venture Capital Market to  RUB 2.7 trillion
  • A twofold increase in the number of high-tech projects created annually to 40,000
  • A twofold expansion of the sales market for innovative products to  RUB  10 trillion

Target qualitative indicators:

  • A greater impact from state support
  • The organization of a venture ecosystem around leading technical institutions (universities)
  • Reinforcing the principle of the globalization of the venture and direct capital market and its participants
  • Concentrating efforts on the most competitive technological areas
  • A significant expansion of the current circle of investors
  • The existence of a multilevel ecosystem in the venture and direct capital market
  • Improving Russia’s investment attractiveness for venture and direct investment

The Strategy includes more than 40 initiatives aimed at eliminating key barriers to the development of the venture industry in Russia.

The Strategy identifies three types of investors as having the greatest investment potential for the Russian Venture Capital Market: non-state pension funds, corporations and individuals. These investors can, by 2030, increase the volume of capital supply in the venture market by  RUB 134 billion, RUB 950 billion and  RUB 1 trillion, respectively.

According to the proposals outlined in the Strategy, non-state pension funds may get an opportunity to invest a certain limited amount of funds in venture funds through investment partnership agreements. At the same time, the necessary adjustments would be made to approaches to risk assessment and the methodology used for stress testing. For the first non-state pension funds to enter the Russian Venture Capital Market, a pilot project has been proposed for the participation of non-state pension funds in state-backed investment funds. These funds will apply the principle of the asymmetric distribution of profit, which will allow non-state pension funds to earn higher returns.

In order to attract another important category of investors, i.e., corporations, to invest in the Venture Capital Market, the Strategy proposed a set of tax incentives. This would involve reducing the tax base for income-tax purposes upon the creation of corporate venture funds, the participation of corporations in venture funds as LPs or upon investments on the part of large businesses in technology projects.

Benefits in terms of personal income tax and an increase in the tax deduction limit are designed to stimulate investment in venture projects on the part of private investors and business angels. In addition, the Strategy provides for legislative amendments to allow the participation of individuals in investment partnership agreements, through which most venture funds are structured. In the field of tax regulation, it is also proposed that an initiative be considered to reduce tariffs on social security contributions to  14% for small innovative companies.

In order to increase the flow and quality of projects, the Strategy suggests measures to develop the infrastructure for supporting the technology business. Specifically, the launch of no fewer than 30 centers for the collective use of services for small innovative companies (including customs clearance services, intellectual property registration, joint procurement, etc.), as well as at least 30 testing and prototyping centers where projects will be able to use R&D infrastructure, get mentoring support, etc., is planned by 2030. Initiatives to develop the competencies of the venture community include the launch of educational programmes for technology entrepreneurs and venture capitalists together with global education centers.

For access to advanced international expertise, the Strategy suggests the possibility of tax incentives for foreign companies when they locate R&D centers in Russia and fulfil R&D localization requirements. A programme for the systematic investment of funds with state capital in global venture funds and foreign innovative companies is also planned for launch. For the accelerated entry of Russian companies into foreign markets, the creation of acceleration centers that provide a range of services for finding international partners and promoting products in target markets is proposed.

A separate group of initiatives is devoted to increasing the availability of exchange platforms as the main instrument for attracting investments for companies at later stages. The document proposes measures to revise the rules for fast-growing innovative companies to be listed on stock exchanges, and to create a special methodology to prepare them for listing securities and subsidizing related expenses. In addition, the Strategy proposes the subsidization of bond rates to increase the attractiveness of innovative companies’ tools for investors, as well as launching a programme for creating pre-IPO funds. to facilitate work with debt financing for mature companies, the Strategy envisages the introduction of lending mechanisms secured by intellectual property.

The Strategy sets the ambitious goal of radically transforming the landscape of the Russian venture industry, increasing the attractiveness and feel-good factors of our market for all categories of participants and being competitive on a global scale. The initiatives set out in the Strategy were developed by RVC in close cooperation and lively dialogue with representatives of private funds and investors, development institutions, government agencies and corporations. The result is a tool that can be used for the systemic and comprehensive development of the infrastructure of the venture capital market for the next five to ten years
Alexey Basov, RVC’s Deputy CEO and Investment Director

Стратегия развития рынка прямых и венчурных инвестиций до 2030 года

В декабре 2018 года РВК совместно с Министерством экономического развития Российской Федерации представила проект стратегии развития рынка венчурных и прямых инвестиций на период до 2025 года и дальнейшую перспективу до 2030 года.

Разработка стратегии была предусмотрена планом мероприятий по стимулированию инновационного развития России, утвержденным распоряжением Правительства Российской Федерации в июне 2017 года. По заказу Министерства экономического развития России проект стратегии развития венчурного рынка был разработан РВК совместно с международной консалтинговой компанией PWC.

Цель стратегии развития венчурного рынка — реализация инновационного потенциала России за счет развития конкурентного рынка венчурных инвестиций и создания зрелой индустрии венчурного инвестирования.

Стратегия развития рынка венчурных инвестиций предполагает к 2030 году:

Целевые количественные показатели:

  • увеличение годового объема сделок на российском рынке венчурного капитала в 30 раз, до 410 млрд руб. в год;
  • рост суммарного предложения капитала на венчурном рынке в 10 раз, до 2,7 трлн руб.;
  • увеличение количества ежегодно создаваемых высокотехнологических проектов в два раза, до 40 тыс.;
  • двукратное расширение рынка сбыта инновационной продукции, до 10 трлн руб.

Целевые качественные показатели:

  • повышение эффективности государственной поддержки;
  • организация венчурной экосистемы вокруг ведущих технических высших учебных заведений (университетов);
  • закрепление принципа глобальности рынка венчурных и прямых инвестиций и его участников;
  • концентрация усилий на наиболее конкурентоспособных технологических направлениях;
  • существенное расширение текущего круга инвесторов;
  • наличие многоуровневой экосистемы рынка венчурных и прямых инвестиций;
  • повышение привлекательности юрисдикции Российской Федерации для осуществления венчурных и прямых инвестиций.

Стратегия включает более 40 инициатив, направленных на устранение ключевых барьеров развития в России венчурной индустрии.

Стратегия выделяет три типа инвесторов как обладающих наиболее высоким инвестиционным потенциалом для российского рынка венчурных инвестиций: НПФ, корпорации и частные лица. Эти инвесторы могут увеличить объем предложения капитала на венчурном рынке к 2030 году на 134 млрд руб., 950  млрд руб. и 1 трлн руб. соответственно.

Согласно предложениям стратегии, НПФ могут получить возможность вкладывать определенный лимит средств в венчурные фонды в формате договора инвестиционного товарищества. При этом будут внесены необходимые корректировки в подходы к оценке риска инвестиций и методологии стресс-тестирования. Для выхода на российский венчурный рынок первых НПФ предлагается реализовать пилотный проект по участию НПФ в фондах с государственным капиталом. В таких фондах будет реализован принцип ассиметричного распределения прибыли, благодаря чему НПФ смогут получить повышенную доходность.

Для вовлечения на венчурный рынок другой важнейшей категории инвесторов – корпораций – в стратегии предложен комплекс мер налогового стимулирования. Он предполагает снижение налоговой базы при расчете налога на прибыль при создании корпоративных венчурных фондов, участии корпораций в венчурных фондах в качестве LP и инвестициях крупного бизнеса в технологические проекты.

Льготы в части налога на доходы физических лиц и увеличения лимита налогового вычета призваны стимулировать инвестиции в венчурные проекты со стороны частных инвесторов и бизнес-ангелов. Кроме того, стратегия предусматривает внесение изменений в законодательство, разрешающих участие физических лиц в договорах инвестиционного товарищества, через которые структурируется большинство венчурных фондов. В сфере налогового регулирования также предлагается рассмотреть инициативу по снижению тарифов по взносам в фонды социального страхования для малых инновационных компаний до 14 %.

На увеличение потока и качества проектов направлены меры стратегии по развитию инфраструктуры поддержки технологического бизнеса. В частности, к 2030 году запланирован запуск в России не менее 30 центров коллективного пользования услугами для малых инновационных компаний (в том числе услугами по таможенному оформлению, регистрации интеллектуальной собственности, совместным закупкам и др.), а также не менее 30 центров апробации и прототипирования, где проекты смогут воспользоваться инфраструктурой для проведения НИОКР, получить менторскую поддержку и др. Инициативы по развитию компетенций венчурного сообщества предусматривают запуск образовательных программ для технологических предпринимателей и специалистов венчурных фондов совместно с глобальными образовательными центрами.

Для доступа к передовой международной экспертизе в стратегии предложена возможность налоговых льгот для зарубежных компаний при размещении в России R&D-центров и выполнении требований по локализации НИОКР. Также запланирован запуск программы по систематическому инвестированию фондов с госкапиталом в глобальные венчурные фонды и зарубежные инновационные компании. Для ускоренного выхода российских компаний за рубеж предлагается создание акселерационных центров, предоставляющих комплекс услуг по поиску международных партнеров и продвижению продукции на целевых рынках.

Отдельный блок инициатив посвящен повышению доступности биржевых площадок как основного инструмента привлечения инвестиций для компаний поздних стадий. В документе предложены меры по пересмотру правил выхода на биржу быстрорастущих инновационных компаний, создание специальной методологии по их подготовке к листингу ценных бумаг и субсидирование соответствующих расходов. Кроме того, стратегия предлагает субсидирование ставок по облигациям для повышения привлекательности инструментов инновационных компаний для инвесторов, а также запуск программы по созданию pre-IPO фондов. Для облегчения работы с заемным финансированием для зрелых компаний предусмотрено внедрение механизмов кредитования под залог интеллектуальной собственности.

Стратегия ставит перед собой амбициозную цель по кардинальной трансформации ландшафта российской венчурной индустрии, повышению привлекательности и комфортности нашего рынка для всех категорий участников, достижению его конкурентоспособности в глобальном масштабе. Комплекс инициатив стратегии разработан РВК в тесном взаимодействии и живом диалоге с представителями частных фондов и инвесторов, институтов развития, органов власти, корпораций. В результате мы получили прикладной инструмент для системного и всестороннего развития инфраструктуры венчурного рынка на горизонте ближайших 5–10 лет.
Алексей Басов, заместитель Генерального директора–инвестиционный директор РВК