Up Great technology contests

Up Great technology contests are open engineering contests in a format that is new to Russia, in which teams are invited to find breakthrough solutions to the most complex technological problems on a global scale. The winner of the contests receives a large cash prize for demonstrating to the expert jury and the general public a clear and repeatable solution to the competition task.

The contests were initiated by RVC, the Skolkovo Foundation and ASI as part of the implementation of the National Technology Initiative. Their goal is to overcome significant technological barriers that impede the emergence of new products in promising NTI markets. The mechanics of the contests were developed in accordance with best practices in global technology contests: XPrize and the Darpa Grand Challenge.

In July 2018, the first three Up Great technology contests in the field of driverless vehicles and hydrogen power officially started with a prize fund of RUB 375 million. More than 40 applications from engineering teams from across Russia were submitted to take part in the Winter City, First Element: Earth and First Element: Air competitions. The final contests trials will be held in 2019. Partners for the Up Great contests include Yandex, Sberbank of Russia, KIAT and NAMI.

Key indicators
  • active series of Up Great contests in the field of autonomous transport and hydrogen energy
  • Up to  RUB  200 mln
    in prizes for each contests
  • Over 40 
    applications from engineering teams from all over Russia
Technology contests are another tool for engaging talented individuals in the National Technology Initiative. The winners will be able to form teams united by the highly complex tasks of overcoming technological barriers that will result in the promotion of their solutions in the global market. Contests will make it possible to attract much more investment in development than the amount spent on prizes.
Dmitry Peskov, special representative of the President of the Russian Federation on digital and technological development

The requirements for the procedure of organizing and conducting NTI technological contests and the rules for granting subsidies from the federal budget for the needs of the project are stipulated in Decree No. 403 of the Government of the Russian Federation of 3 April 2018. The functions of the operator of NTI technological contests are performed by RVC.

Winter City

The Winter City contests is aimed at creating an autonomous vehicle capable of driving in extreme climatic conditions in cities, without visible road markings, with poor visibility on the roadway and in the presence of other traffic. That said, speed and safety should be similar to that of the average driver.

Under the terms of the competition, within the framework of the final trials, the vehicle must travel autonomously to checkpoints on a track 50 km in length in less than three hours, independently plotting the route while taking into account the presence of other vehicles on the track, observing traffic rules and not causing other participants to commit violations. Yandex is the technology partner for the competition. The prize fund for the competition amounts to  RUB 175 million.

In total, more than 30 applications were submitted from engineering teams, commercial companies and universities from all over Russia, and 13 teams participated in qualifying trials at the NAMI track in the Moscow Oblast. Based on the results of the qualifying trials, five teams advanced to the competition finals:

  • Nizhny Novgorod State Technical University
  • BaseTracK (Moscow)
  • Winter City MADI (Moscow Automobile and Road Construction State Technical University)
  • StarLine (St. Petersburg)
  • AUTO-RTK (a joint team from the Bortovye intellektualnye sistemy Scientific Design Office for Computer Systems and Companies from Taganrog, Southern Federal University and Southwest State University)

The final trials of the Winter City competition will be held in December 2019.

According to Frost & Sullivan, the mass commercialization of driverless vehicles will begin after 2025. By that time, sales of cars equipped with autonomous driving systems will exceed 40% of the global market for new cars. The market for driverless vehicles will increase from the current USD 1.3 billion to  USD 84 billion, and sales of autonomous cars in absolute terms will reach 36 million units.

«Winter City»

First Element: Air and First Element: Earth

The purpose of these contests is to overcome global technological barriers in the promising segment of hydrogen fuel cells. It is assumed that this barrier can be overcome both in the air and on the ground. Contestants will create power-generating systems for hydrogen fuel cells for vehicles that are comparable in efficiency to traditional energy sources. The competition objectives were developed with the support of the Institute of Problems of Chemical Physics of the Russian Academy of Sciences

The participants in the First Element: Air competition are to develop environmentally friendly and energy-intensive hydrogen fuel cells that will significantly increase the time of operation of UAVs in the air. Drones can now fly continuously for half an hour on average. The objective of the competition is to create a battery with a capacity of 1.3 kW and a specific mass energy capacity of at least 700 Wh/kg, while its mass should not exceed 7 kg. Developers need to mount their power-generating system on a special multi-rotor platform, after which it must remain in the air for at least three hours in cyclic flight mode. The competition prize will amount to  RUB 60 million.

The First Element: Earth competition is aimed at creating hydrogen fuel cells for medium-sized land vehicles and water-borne vessels: manned and unmanned motorcycles, automobiles and light boats. The capacity of the power-generating system should be at least 15 kW with a specific energy density of 500 Wh/L, and the volume should not exceed 150 litres. Competition participants will have to mount their power-generating system on the unmanned vehicle platform provided by the organizers and then take part in a race and stay on the track for at least three hours. The competition prize will amount to  RUB 140 million.

Twelve teams submitted applications to participate in the First Element series of Up Great competitions. There are seven teams in the running to win the First Element: Air competition. Five more applications were submitted for the First Element: Earth competition. The finals of the First Element contests will be held in July 2019.

Overcoming this barrier will enable the technology to enter new markets. This is primarily about robots and quadcopters. Robotics is developing rapidly, and the energy intensity of the power sources for this industry is extremely important. As for quadcopters, the greater their energy intensity and the less their mass, the longer they will be able to fly. Quadcopters can be used to perform complex assignments, e.g., to solve the ‘last mile’ problem in logistics or to conduct cartographic surveys.
Yuri Dobrovolsky, leader of the Up Great First Element competition, head of the NTI Center of Excellence for Technologies for New and Mobile Energy Sources at the Institute of Problems of Chemical Physics of the Russian Academy of Science

According to forecasts by Frost & Sullivan, global automakers will bring to market more than 20 new models with hydrogen engines by 2020. By 2030, the total sales of vehicles using hydrogen fuel will reach 583  thousand units per year.

Технологические конкурсы Up Great

Технологические конкурсы Up Great – это новый для России формат открытых инженерных состязаний, в которых командам предлагается найти прорывные решения сложнейших технологических задач глобального масштаба. Победитель конкурса получает крупный денежный приз за демонстрацию понятного и повторяемого решения конкурсного задания перед экспертным жюри и широкой общественностью.

Конкурсы инициированы РВК, Фондом «Сколково» и АСИ в рамках реализации Национальной технологической инициативы. Их цель – преодолеть значимые технологические барьеры, которые препятствуют появлению новых продуктов на перспективных рынках НТИ. Механика конкурсов разработана в соответствии с лучшими практиками мировых технологических соревнований: X-Prize и DARPA Grand Challenge.

В июле 2018 года официально стартовали первые три технологических конкурса Up Great в сфере беспилотного транспорта и водородной энергетики с призовым фондом 375 млн руб. На участие в конкурсах «Зимний город», «Первый элемент. Земля» и «Первый элемент. Воздух» собрано более 40 заявок от инженерных команд со всей России. Финальные испытания конкурсов пройдут в 2019 году. Партнерами Up Great стали Яндекс, Сбербанк России, The Korea Institute for Advancement of Technology (KIAT) и Научный автомоторный институт (НАМИ).

Ключевые показатели

  • активных серии конкурсов Up Great в сфере беспилотного транспорта и водородной энергетики
  • До 200  млн руб.
    призовой фонд каждого конкурса
  • Более 40 
    заявок от инженерных команд со всей России
Технологические конкурсы – это еще один инструмент по вовлечению талантов в контур Национальной технологической инициативы. Победители смогут сформировать команды, объединенные сверхсложными задачами по преодолению технологических барьеров, которые добьются продвижения своих решений на глобальный рынок. Конкурсы позволят привлечь значительно больше инвестиций в разработку, чем потраченная сумма призового фонда.
Дмитрий Песков, специальный представитель Президента Российской Федерации по вопросам цифрового и технологического развития

Требования к процедуре организации и проведения технологических конкурсов НТИ, а также правила предоставления субсидий из федерального бюджета под нужды проекта определены Постановлением Правительства Российской Федерации от 3 апреля 2018 года № 403. Функциями оператора технологических конкурсов НТИ наделена РВК.

«Зимний город»

Конкурс «Зимний город» направлен на создание беспилотного автомобиля, способного передвигаться в сложных климатических условиях в городе, при отсутствии дорожной разметки, низкой видимости дорожного полотна и наличии дорожного трафика. Скорость и уровень безопасности при этом должны быть как у среднестатистического водителя.

По условиям конкурса, в рамках финальных испытаний машина должна проехать в автономном режиме по чек-пойнтам полигона длиной 50 км быстрее чем за три часа, самостоятельно прокладывая маршрут с учетом наличия на полигоне других транспортных средств, соблюдая правила дорожного движения и не провоцируя других участников на нарушения. Технологическим партнером соревнований выступает компания «Яндекс». Призовой фонд конкурса составляет 175 млн руб.

Всего на конкурс поступило более 30 заявок от инженерных команд, коммерческих компаний и вузов со всей России, 13 команд стали участниками квалификационных испытаний на полигоне Центра испытаний «НАМИ» в Московской области. По итогам квалификации в финал конкурса вышли пять команд:

  • НГТУ (Нижегородский государственный технический университет);
  • BaseTracK (ООО «Бейстрек Рус», Москва);
  • Зимний город МАДИ (Московский автомобильно-дорожный государственный технический университет);
  • StarLine (НПО «СтарЛайн», Санкт-Петербург);
  • АВТО-РТК (объединенная команда Научно-конструкторского бюро вычислительных систем и компании «Бортовые интеллектуальные системы» из Таганрога, Южного федерального университета (ЮФУ) и Юго-Западного государственного университета (ЮЗГУ)).

Финальные испытания конкурса «Зимний город» пройдут в декабре 2019 года.

По прогнозам Frost & Sullivan, массовая коммерциализация беспилотных автомобилей начнется после 2025 года. К этому времени объем продаж машин, оснащенных системами автономного вождения, превысит 40 % мирового рынка новых легковых автомобилей. Рынок беспилотных транспортных средств увеличится с текущих 1,3 до 84 млрд долл. США, а продажи автономных автомобилей в абсолютных значениях достигнут 36 млн шт.

«Зимний город»

«Первый элемент. Воздух» и «Первый элемент. Земля»

Цель конкурсов – преодоление глобальных технологических барьеров в перспективном сегменте водородной энергетики на топливных элементах. Преодоление барьера предполагается в двух сферах: в воздухе и на земле. Конкурсанты будут создавать энергетические установки на водородных топливных элементах для транспортных средств, сравнимые по эффективности с традиционными источниками энергии. Конкурсные задания разработаны при поддержке Института проблем химической физики РАН.

Участникам конкурса «Первый элемент. Воздух» предстоит разработать экологически чистые и энергоемкие водородные топливные элементы, которые значительно увеличат время работы беспилотников в воздухе. Сейчас коптеры могут беспрерывно летать в среднем полчаса. Конкурсной задачей является создание аккумулятора мощностью 1,3 кВт и удельной массовой энергоемкостью не менее 700 Вт • ч / кг, при этом его масса не должна превышать 7 кг. Разработчикам необходимо смонтировать созданную энергоустановку на специальной мультикоптерной платформе, после чего она должна продержаться в воздухе не менее трех часов при циклическом режиме полета. Призовой фонд конкурса составит 60 млн руб.

Конкурс «Первый элемент. Земля» направлен на создание водородных топливных элементов для наземных и плавающих транспортных средств средних размеров: пилотируемых и беспилотных мотоциклов, автомобилей, легких катеров. Мощность энергетической установки должна составить не менее 15 кВт при удельной энергоплотности 500 Вт • ч / л, а объем не должен превышать 150 л. Участникам конкурса предстоит смонтировать энергоустановку на предоставленную организаторами беспилотную автомобильную платформу, а затем принять участие в гонке и продержаться на трассе не менее трех часов. Призовой фонд конкурса составит 140 млн руб.

12 команд подали заявки на участие в конкурсах Up Great серии «Первый элемент». На победу в конкурсе «Первый элемент. Воздух» претендуют семь команд. Еще пять заявок поступили на участие в конкурсе «Первый элемент. Земля». Финальные соревнования конкурсов «Первый элемент» пройдут в июле 2019 года.

Преодоление этого барьера позволит технологии выйти на новые рынки. Речь идет прежде всего о роботах и квадрокоптерах. Робототехника активно развивается, и энергоемкость источников питания для этой отрасли крайне важна. Что касается квадрокоптеров, то чем больше будет их энергоемкость и меньше масса, тем дольше они будут летать. Квадрокоптеры можно будет использовать для выполнения сложных поручений, скажем, для решения задачи «последней мили» в логистике или для картографической съемки.
Юрий Добровольский, лидер конкурса Up Great «Первый элемент», руководитель Центра компетенций НТИ по технологиям новых и мобильных источников энергии ИПХФ РАН.

По прогнозам консалтинговой компании Frost & Sullivan, к 2020 году мировые автопроизводители выведут на рынок более 20 новых моделей с водородными двигателями. К 2030 году общий объем продаж транспортных средств на водородном топливе достигнет 583 тыс. единиц в год.